OFA Announces 2013 Scholars

June 12, 2013 - 13:47

OFA has selected six students from across the country to serve as the year’s OFA Scholars

OFA- The Association of Horticulture Professionals has selected six students from across the country to serve as the year’s OFA Scholars.

The goal of the OFA Scholars Program is to provide students with an enriching professional development experience that increases their knowledge, industry awareness, and career enthusiasm.

The application process aims to identify some of the industry’s brightest young professionals and help launch their careers in horticulture by providing education and networking opportunities.

The 2013 OFA Scholars are:

• Josh Craver, Kansas State University
• Steven Ferullo, Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute
• Josh Henry, Ohio State University
• Chris McKellar, Michigan State University
• Garrett Owen, Purdue University
• Alicia Rihn, University of Minnesota

OFA Scholars will be on-site at the 2013 OFA Short Course (July 13-16 in Columbus, Ohio) and will assist the OFA Generation Next Committee with events, conduct presentations that share their insight into industry issues, attend the trade show and educational sessions, meet with industry mentors and network at various social events.

The OFA Scholars Program is open to undergraduate and graduate students attending two- and four-year colleges and universities throughout the United States who are majoring in horticulture or a related field and have a minimum GPA of 3.0. Students must complete an online application and submit one faculty letter of recommendation.

For more information on these individuals, including biographies and photos, go to www.ofa.org/scholars.

Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.